Where did I start and Where am I going?

Well, Hello!

Bought my first DSLR(Canon Rebel t6) in 2016 the day my first credit card came in the mail and that didn’t last long. I took it everywhere, I took horrible portraits, nature(the kind that everyone shoots, sunsets, sunrises and their pets) but they were horrible.

Then, I got the itch to shoot sports and I don’t know why. Yes, I have always loved sports and participated in them but can’t remember why or what made me want to go out and try it. Well long story short, the canon couldn’t handle the low light basketball gym and it was SLOW. Slow as in FPS(Frames per second) so it was hard to catch the action and when I did, it was very noisy or grainy. Then comes the internship I had to take to graduate college and that is where I started to put in the work and more money to get where I needed to so I could photograph sports. At this point I am all in on being a sports photographer. I bought a Nikon D3s(9 FPS and awesome low-light control) and a Nikon 70-200 f2.8, ideal for an entry sports lens as for many other things. From there, I have bought many lenses and a couple other cameras. With sports came, a ton of high school games, some college football, baseball, softball and basketball at the DI and DII level.

Along with sports, I have ventured into many other areas like astro photography, weddings, videos, nature and portraits. I help a local wedding photographer as an associate photographer and also make wedding films. I have published works, have shot magazine covers, photos in advertising, calendars, and have had photos in art galleries. Recently, I have dabbled in video outside of weddings and that is at my full time job at Storm Cloud Marketing in Joplin, Mo. I aid in shooting videos for commercials, social media, web backgrounds and products for websites.

This is a snapshot into what I do and some of the areas I will go into detail about in future posts.

 

-Stay, ON THE SHUTTER-

 

 

Leave a comment